Visit Reports Nepal, Spring 2017

From January 26 till March 5 Manuela Balma (board member) and André Günter (president dropforlife) visited our Nepal projects realized with our partners ECCA and Weconnex.

ECCA Projects
On the program were school visits in the context of the «Safe Water Program» as well as the dialogue with women from our «Women Group Social Enterprise Project».
Visit Report ECCA Projects

NEXUS Project (partner Weconnex)
Manuela and André also visited the three dropforlife-funded NEXUS Centers Gochhada, Sarah and Basantapur and could get a picture of the situation on location.
Visit Report NEXUS Project

Status Report, Safe Water Program, Nepal

dropforlife, together with our local partner Environmental Camps for Conservation Awareness (ECCA), has been promoting Safe Drinking Water Campaign in Nepal by using Antenna’s WATA electro-chlorinators for several years already. After introduction of the program in 20 schools during the pilot project conducted during 2012–2014, the «Safe water program» has been re-enforced in order to extend it to 15 new schools over the time period 2015–2017, reaching a total of 35 schools supported by dropforlife.

Status Report based on half-year report 2016
Detailed information on the project «Safe Water Program Nepal»

NEXUS Project Nepal: Opening of the first two NEXUS Centers

On the 1st of September our partner WECONNEX opened the first NEXUS Center in Gochada, Chitwan. Muna Mahato, the responsible operator in Gochada, has taken it upon herself together with the support of the local entrepreneur Guneshwar Mahato and the social mobilizers Bhima Kunwar and Laxmi Sunar to make NEXUS Center Gochada a success.

Clean water from the NEXUS Center is delivered in disinfected jars or bottles to ensure that the water remains uncontaminated.To create awareness in Gochada for the new NEXUS Center, Muna attended a local festival where she not only donated 50 jars of water but also explained the benefits of drinking the clean filtered water.

Ten days later a second NEXUS Center was opened in Basanthapur. The responsible for this NEXUS Center is Kamala Bhattari. A Hindu priest officially blessed NEXUS Center Basanthapur and the festive event attracted at least 150 to 200 visitors.

Detailed information on the NEXUS Project (available only in German)

Yearly Status Report Safe Water Program 2015

Yearly Status Report 2015

Some pictures of the project

ECCA Nepal: Post Earthquake Program and Thanks to all Supporters

The 7.8 richter earthquake of April had Nepalese people suffering to an unimaginable extent.

In this situation our project partner in Nepal, ECCA, initiated immediate steps and made big efforts to help people re-sustain their lives.

In this short video ECCA comments on its immediate measures and expresses its heartfelt gratitude to all supporters, donors, volunteers and concerned authorities for helping in every possible way.

NEXUS Project Nepal

On November 12, 2015 we have received the good news that we will be able to finance a new project in Nepal. The NEXUS Project enables the creation and implementation of three NEXUS Centres in rural and remote regions. The main objective of these Centres is the purification and sale of safe drinking water. Certain preparation work has already started on site and we are currently finalising the legal framework in order to start the project before the end of the year.

Detailed information on the NEXUS Project (available only in German).

Besuchsberichte Nepal, Frühjahr 2017

Vom 26. Februar bis zum 5. März besuchten Manuela Balma (Mitglied Stiftungsrat) und André Günter (Präsident Stiftungsrat) die mit unseren Partnern ECCA bzw. Weconnex realisierten dropforlife-Projekte in Nepal.

ECCA-Projekte
Auf dem Programm standen Schulbesuche im Rahmen des «Safe Water Program» sowie Gespräche mit den drei Frauengruppen aus dem «Women Group Social Enterprise Project».
Besuchsbericht ECCA-Projekte (englisch)

NEXUS Projekt (Partner Weconnex)
Manuela und André haben die drei mit dropforlife-Geldern realisierten NEXUS Center Gochhada, Sauraha und Basantapur besucht und sich vor Ort ein Bild der Situation machen können.
Besuchsbericht NEXUS-Projekt (englisch)

Status-Report, Safe Water Program, Nepal

Gemeinsam mit dem lokalen Partner ECCA (Environmental Camps for Conservation Awareness) unterstützt dropforlife seit mehreren Jahren ein Pilotprojekt in Nepal, bei welchem die WATA-Geräte von Antenna (Herstellung von aktivem Chlor durch Elektrolyse) zum Einsatz kommen. Nach der Implementierung des Programmes in 20 Schulen während der ersten Projektphase (2012–2014) wurde das «Safe water program» im Zeitraum 2015–2017 auf 15 weitere Schulen ausgeweitet, sodass heute insgesamt 35 Schulen von dropforlife unterstützt werden.

Status Report based on half-year report 2016 (Englisch)
Mehr Details zum Projekt «Safe Water Program Nepal»

NEXUS Projekt Nepal: Eröffnung der ersten beiden NEXUS Center

Am 1. September konnte unser Partner WECONNEX das erste NEXUS Center in Gochada, Chitwan, eröffnen. Muna Mahato, die Betreiberin des Centers, zeichnet dafür verntwortlich, das NEXUS Center mit der Unterstützung des lokalen Unternehmers Guneshwar Mahato sowie der «Social Mobilizers» Bhima Kunwar und Laxmi Sunar zum Erfolg zu führen.

Sauberes Wasser aus den NEXUS Centern wird in desinfizierten Kanistern distribuiert, um zu gewährleisten, dass das Wasser nicht verunreinigt wird. Um in Gochada das Bewusstsein hinsichtlich des neuen NEXUS Centers zu schärfen, nahm Muna an einem lokalen Festival teil, wo sie die Vorzüge des im Center gefilterten Trinkwassers erläuterte.

Zehn Tage später konnte ein zweites NEXUS Center in Basanthapur eröffnet werden. Kampala Bhattari ist für dieses Center verantwortlich. Ein hinduistischer Priester hat das NEXUS Center Basanthapur im Rahmen einer feierlichen Einweihungsfeier gesegnet, an welcher 150 bis 200 Besucherinnen und Besucher teilnahmen.

Mehr Details zum NEXUS Projekt

ECCA Nepal: Hilfsmassnahmen nach dem Erdbeben und Dank an alle Unterstützer

Das verheerende Erdbeben der Stärke 7.8 auf der Richterskala vom April 2015 verursachte in Nepal grosses Leid.

In dieser schwierigen Situation hat unser Projektpartner in Nepal, ECCA, auf bewundernswerte Weise dazu beigetragen, mit wirksamen Sofortmassnahmen effizient Hilfe zu leisten.

In diesem kurzen Video erläutert ECCA die Hilfsmassnahmen und bedankt sich bei allen Partnern und Organisationen für ihre Unterstützung.

NEXUS Projekt Nepal

Am 12. November 2015 haben wir die erfreuliche Nachricht erhalten dass wir ein weiteres Projekt in Nepal finanzieren können. Das NEXUS Projekt erlaubt die Kreation und Implementierungen von drei NEXUS Centers in ländlichen und abgelegenen Regionen, die als Hauptziel haben, Grundwasser zu reinigen und dieses zu verkaufen. Gewisse Vorbereitungsarbeiten haben bereits vor Ort stattgefunden und wir sind nun dabei, alle rechtlichen Grundlagen zu finalisieren, damit das Projekt noch dieses Jahr starten kann.

Mehr Details zum NEXUS Projekt